EHS richly rewarded

Cllr Jack maeko, Louis Campbell and other roleplayers at the prize giving ceremony

Fransa de Beer
LEPHALALE — Hoërskool Ellisras was richly rewarded for the Matric results of 2016 at a circuit prize giving ceremony at Ga Seleka Community Hall on Wednesday 25 January 2017: (Phalala North, Phalala South and Ellisras region). The welcome address was done by the mayor, Honourable MJ Maeko. The purpose of the day was stipulated by the Executive Corporate Manager Mr MG Makgamatha. Several messages of support were given by amongst others: COSAS – Mr J Mabula, Moral Regeneration – Mr H Ledwaba, Business Chamber – Mr Nape Rametse, PEU, SADTU, Old Mutual, Exxaro Grootegeluk Coal – Ms RS Mthunywa and Eskom: Medupi Power Station – Mr M Nkabinde. The key note address was performed by the Limpopo Legislature Rep. Hon Mme NR Mogotlane. The master of ceremonies for the trophies was Ms Annemie van Vuuren who stressed that the circuit managers are indeed thankful for the hard work and endurance!
Hoërskool Ellisras received an endless list of awards. Learners were awarded for participation on National and Provincial level in Sport, Arts and Culture. Dario Geyser, GJ Roets and Marushka Geyser took part on national level in swimming. The u. 14 and u. 16 rugby teams are number one in Limpopo and won the Beeld trophies. Carli Liversage received an award for horse riding achieving position 5 nationally. Athletics: Larissa Nel is number 9 nationally and Charnè Vosloo number 12. Loutjie Steenekamp was invited twice to participate in the USA and is nr 5 nationally. Four learners were rewarded for their participation in the National Road safety debate – position 4 nationally: Boitumelo Tsolo, Lerato Ditsela, Dikeledi Monyeki and Renate Tshelana. Masipala Murunwa came first in the province for English Poetry.
Hoërskool Ellisras won a trophy for the best five academic learners in the circuit: Barbara Emslie, 90.4% Cara van Heerden 88.1%, Tanya van Zyl 80.9% Karli van Blommestein 80.7% and Francois Shaw 79.3% Each learner received a tablet! The school received a trophy for the highest distinction rate in the circuit! The school also received a trophy for beating the 80% pass rate. Barbara Emslie received a trophy for the best learner in the circuit!
Fourteen teachers of Hoërskool Ellisras received certificates for being the best educator in the circuit in their subjects: A Gerber: Afrikaans Eerste Addisionele Taal, Mariette Weber: Computer Application Technology, Eddie Elmes: Civil Technology, Maryke Diplock: Consumer Studies, Theunes van Staden: Graphics and Design, Fransa de Beer: English Home Language, Rina Coetzee: Geography, Nils Meiring: History, Johan Heysteck: Information Technology, Life Sciences: Reinette van Staden, Christi Bindeman: Maths Literacy, Sarette le Roux: Physical Science, Manda Pitout: Tourism and Charlene van Staden: Visual Arts.
Mrs H Mabodja received a trophy for being the manager of the best circuit: Ellisras Circuit. The audience was also entertained by dancers. This was indeed a glorious function: Alala Lephalale Alala!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.