Teachers honoured

LEPHALALE — The Department of Education held their annual National Teacher Award Ceremony for the Waterberg circuit on Thursday 6 September at Laerskool Bosveld Primary, celebrating excellence in education.


Mrs Sonja van Deventer, on behalf of Laerskool Bosveld Primary, welcomed all the teachers and delegates who attended the ceremony.

Mrs H Mabotja, circuit manager, said the teachers do a great job and have an important mandate, not only from the department, but also from God. She thanked institutions like Exxaro, Eskom’s Medupi Power Station, Matimba Power Station, Metropolitan, Mogol Post and Old Mutual for playing an enormous role in terms of education in the area. She also expressed her appreciation to sponsors like Lephalale Site Services. Messages of congratulations were delivered by sponsors, social partners, PEU, NAPTOSA, SADTU, Mr KL Mahlalane and the Provincial NTA coordinator.

It was said that there are so many challenges around teaching and it is a “mammoth” and purposeful task to be a teacher. Teachers must lead and shed the Light and continue to keep up the outstanding work despite many challenges. But after all, to be a teacher is a fulfilling career.

One of the highlights was when Mr MK Mahlahlani, Principal of Dikubu Primary from Mookgophong Circuit and the previous NTA winner in the Leadership category, said that it doesn’t matter where you come from. “Care about yourself and your work and you will reap the fruits.”

Mr Eric Thobejane, Provincial NTA Coordinator, said hard word is not enough, you must “believe in yourself, organize, execute and balance your activities”. He motivated teachers to participate, because it means that they can progress to Provincial and National levels.

Winners in each category received a certificate and trophy for excellence in the following categories:
Lifetime Achievement: MJ Koka
Inclusive and Special Needs: AE Schmidt
Grade R Teaching: OD Chauke
ICT: BL Makhubedu
Physical Science: TG Kgosana
Mathematics: TK Koza
Primary School Teaching: MI Rachele
Secondary School Teaching: MI Rachele
Primary School Leadership: TM Mashishi
Secondary School Leadership: MP Manganyi

The event was concluded with delicious refreshments, supplied by Lephalale Site Services.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.